Heart Healthy Curry Pork

Life has gotten pretty busy for me so it’s been a while since I last posted a recipe on here, but here goes nothing!  What inspired me for this post is that my uncle recently had been diagnosed with high cholesterol and been experiencing some issue with that, which the doctors warned could lead to fatal heart conditions.  This served as a wake up call and a serious need of dietary reform for him and our family (doctor’s orders)!

To help my uncle (and by association the whole family) transition to a heart-healthy diet I asked my uncle to send me a few recipes that he’d like to eat at home.  My uncle sent me a recipe from the Heart and Stroke Foundation (HSF) for a Ginger Curried Pork, which you can check out by clicking the link.  I followed the recipe loosely – meaning staying true to my cooking style I just make do with what I had and made it my own.  For those of you who have read my posts before would know that I don’t really tend to measure precisely when I cook, but luckily the recipe I referenced off of did and I’ll tell you the ballpark of all the changes I’ve made (they’ll be italicized).  If you are making this yourself, feel free to alter areas to suit your tastes (see the side notes for where you can do this).

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 slab of pork tenderloin (HSF says 375 g but I just went with more for meal-prep)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil (HSF uses vegetable oil)
  • 1 onion sliced
  • 1 tbsp of minced garlic
  • 2 carrots sliced (I sliced my carrots diagonally about ¼inch thick)
  • 1 sweet potato peeled and sliced (I cut them roughly the same size as my carrots, maybe slightly bigger)
  • 2 tbsp (25ml) minced fresh ginger
  • curry powder (add however much you’d like depending on how much curry you’d like)
  • 3 cups (725 mL) non-sweetened almond milk (HSF used 1% milk, you can adjust this depending on how saucy you want)
  • 2 tbsp (25 mL) cornstarch (if you put more milk then add a bit more cornstarch as well)
  • A large handful of spinach (I forgot to take a picture of this)
  • 1 red pepper sliced
  • salt (optional – because of my uncle’s condition I skipped the salt, but left it on the side for others to add to suit their own taste)
  • hot sauce (you can use chili flakes as well, and again add it to suit your own taste, but I skipped this as well for my uncle and added it on the side for those who wanted)

 

Directions:

  1. After washing and prepping all the veggies listed above take the slab of pork tenderloin out and trim out the fat (white stuff) that you can see and slice the pork into about ¼inch slices – generally if you pull on to the fat and scrape the edge of the knife along it comes off fairly easily.  If you’re unsure how to do this see this video.
  2. In a large skillet (preferably one that is deep to hold the curry better) heat the olive oil to medium-high heat.  Add in the onions and garlic and sauté until it starts to soften.
  3. Add in the ginger and stir for about a minute to release the flavour before adding in the carrots and sweet potato.  Add in the curry powder (and a pinch of salt if you would like a bit more flavour) and mix it well so that all ingredients are coated.  Turn heat to medium and cover the skillet with a lid for about 5 minutes or until the carrots and sweet potatoes start to soften slightly.
  4. While carrots and sweet potatoes are simmering in the pot in a separate bowl mix almond milk and cornstarch together making sure there are no clumps of cornstarch. 20170323_172603
  5. Turn heat back to medium high. Add the pork into the skillet and mix with the carrots and sweet potato.  Cook until pork mostly cooked but still is slightly pinkish and add the almond milk/cornstarch mixture and stir as sauce starts to thicken. 20170323_173532
  6. Stir in spinach and red peppers.  Cover skillet with a lid and leave to simmer for about 2 minutes or until spinach is wilted and red peppers are soft.  20170323_174426
  7. Add salt, pepper, and hot sauce to taste.
  8. Serve and enjoy! 🙂 (HSF also makes a yogurt topping which you can make and add as well on their recipe)

 

