Bearspaw Lion’s Farmers Market

Made a special trip to Calgary this week to visit family and it has been such an amazing adventure with food and activities! Today my family here took me to a local Farmers Market just on the outskirts of Calgary called the Bearspaw Lion’s Farmers Market. There were so many food items I found there that were just amazing I had a hard time picking the featured image for this post!

The Bearspaw Lion’s Farmers Market opens every Wednesdays from 3:30-7:30 PM and Sundays from 10 AM – 2 PM. There are lots of different vendors selling all kinds of goods from fruits and veggies, to pies, meat, clothing and accessories.

 

I am someone who enjoys wandering aimlessly around markets, that coupled with free food and I was on cloud nine! I couldn’t believe I could combine both of my favorite pastimes all into one experience! You mean I can just walk around and people will feed me for free?! 😍 Of course those vendors that really hooked me, hooked my wallet too – which for my family and I were quite a few. Here, I’ll highlight some of the things you should try if you ever come to the Bear Lion’s Farmers Market.

20160821_105240
Luc’s European Meats

 

 

Our first stop was at Luc’s European Meats which had the best pepperoni sticks by far. My favourite was the turkey pepperoni (low in fat and so tasty, they had a medium spice and mild flavours) and the honey garlic (perfect balance of sweet and flavour for those who don’t like spice) pepperoni sticks. They also had salami and other cured meats, but I was too obsessed with the pepperoni that I didn’t get around to trying the other meats.

My next find was the Innisfail Growers stall which had fresh products from a cooperative group of local farmers. They had free samples of sweet peas and grape tomatoes and I have never had tomatoes or peas taste as juicy and sweet like theirs did. I bought a bag each as a nice healthy snack for me. I’ve never really eaten peas raw, but these peas were so big and sweet I just kept popping them in my mouth and finished both bags by the end of the day!

20160821_194301

Another go-to vendor was Simple Simon Pies who came highly recommended by my family and after tasting their samples I can see why. They had an assortment of savory pies all of which were so good and flavourful. What I liked best was that their pies were chunky with plenty of filling and not just full of gravy. My favourite pie was the Jamaican Beef Curry Pie. One pie even though it looks mini is pretty filling on its own. Myself and 6 other family members all shared 9 pies and only was able to finish one each with 2 leftover. Apparently, Simple Simon Pies are available at Co-op grocery stores in Calgary as well and they also sell meals, soups, and desserts. These I have not tried but if they are as good as their pies then I’m sold already!

20160821_203641

For dessert my family and I decided to get some butter tarts from Pearson’s Berry Farm which also came highly recommended. I tried both their coconut butter tarts and their raspberry butter tarts and I just melted. The tarts were so soft and just broke up and melted into your mouth so nicely. I’m just drooling thinking about it right now.

So if you’re ever in Calgary on a Sunday or Wednesday, and love food and wandering like I do, then I definitely recommend coming to Bearspaw Lion’s Club to try all these things.

 

Rating: 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 (5 out of 5 smileys)

Price: $ – $$$ (depending how much you want to spend: low to none if you only eat free samples and buy nothing to somewhat pricey if you’re feeling rich and buy to your hearts content)

