Snow Pea Leaves with Goji Berries

Every time I go to this one Chinese restaurant I always see this dish that they make with snow pea leaves and goji berries.  Chinese veggies aren’t hard to make but I’ve always wondered how they made the thick brown sauce that most Chinese restaurants have over their food that keeps them moist and oh so good!  I’m happy to say that I’ve finally figured it out and it’s actually super simple! I finally learned the secret of the special sauce during my time spent with my aunt’s mom (I guess that makes her my great aunt in-law?) when she used to come over to cook. My great aunt has since passed, but I dedicate this recipe to her and her amazing life and cooking wisdom!

You’re all probably now yelling at the screen saying, “Tell me! What is the secret to this magical sauce you speak of?!?!” It’s actually not that special since any Asian household would have these ingredients, but all you need is Oyster sauce, cornstarch, and water! When I first heard I was like, “…That’s it? !” Yes it’s super simple! The key is the process when you cook it in order to get that perfect sauce consistency, which I’ll explain below. I hope you enjoy this simple recipe which can be used for any leafy veggie combination. Get creative and feel free to share your own creations!

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag of Snow pea leaves
  • Handful of dried Goji berries (Wolf berries)
  • Cooking oil (adjust to your own preference)
  • 1-2 slices of ginger
  • Dash of salt
  • Dash of sugar
  • 1tbs Oyster sauce*
  • 2 tsp Cornstarch*
  • 100 ml of water*

* adjust to your own tastes: add more hoisin if you want it more salty/flavour add more water/cornstarch if you want more sauce

 

Directions:

  1. Wash snow pea leaves by soaking them in a bowl of cold water with some salt and repeat till no more dirt sinks to the bottom.
  2. Soak  goji berries in some warm water and leave it till ready to use later.
  3. In a wok or deep stir-fry pan heat up oil and add ginger slices. Let the ginger simmer for a bit around the pan to flavour the oil and the pan. This gives the snow peas sheen and a nice fresh flavor.
  4. When oil is hot enough (medium high heat) add the snow pea leaves and salt and sugar, mixing quickly until snow peas leaves are evenly coated with a nice sheen.
  5. Drain the goji berries, add it with the snow pea leaves and cover the wok with a lid so the steam may cook the leaves evenly while you prep the sauce.
  6. In a small separate bowl add the Oyster sauce, cornstarch and water. Mix the ingredients until there are no more clumps of cornstarch (the mixture should be a nice creamy coffee brown). If you like yours more saucy you can adjust the proportions accordingly, but I find you don’t need a lot to make a lot of sauce.
  7. Remove the lid of the wok. The veggies should be evenly cooked but still crisp.
  8. Pour the sauce mixture into the wok with the snow pea leaves and mix around. As the mixture gets heated you’ll notice it thicken and turn more translucent (it should look kinda like syrup).
  9. Turn off the heat, serve and enjoy 🙂 !

 

 

